#NaBloPoMo

#NaBloPoMo – the little things – Day 29 and 30

Day 29 and Day 30

I can’t believe I made it to Day 29 and didn’t post!

Yesterday was a frustrating day. The engineer came and condemned the boiler so we still have no heating and now no hot water again. I was pretty fed up. I ended up heading to bed and by the time I remembered about blogging I was warm and toastie with a hot water bottle so I couldn’t drag myself up to post. And I was in no frame of mind to write anything worth reading either. I’ve been feeling self concious about appearing ungrateful or entitled the last few days. And last night I probably would have ranted. I have no real reason to rant given that we have a place to stay now.

I’ve been pondering the direction this blog should take. It’s been a valuable support for me but I don’t feel like a homeless mummy anymore. I am still technically classed as homeless I guess but two years is plenty of time to feel settled and the next move we make will be a standard planned one. I’m looking forward to picking out where we will live and planning and packing the traditional way! But these things aren’t going to be blog worthy from a homeless point of view.

I’m obviously going to be looking at any news to do with homelessness and social housing. Maybe I can write about some of those issues? I’m looking at some volunteeringĀ opportunitiesĀ so I could write about that. But I just feel my time here is done. All the things I will write about I have written before. The settling in, the upheaval the kids have felt and the return to normal life here. I’ve said it all and I’m sure no one needs to read it again.

However, I have enjoyed the blogging experience. It’s something I never really saw myself doing but I have found it fun and useful too. It’s been interesting to look back over the last few months at what I’ve written. I would hope that it’s shown some people what it’s been like. All along I’ve felt like the real life consequences to the policies have not been acknowledged. I’d like those working in the council to approach families with more concern, respect or sympathy that this is hard. I would like more support to be offered to the children facing homelessness. I think the whole system needs to change but it won’t happen any time soon.

I think things will get worse before they get better. I fear hearing stories like mine will become all too common as the benefit caps are introduced.

I want to spend my time helping those people. The real life families suffering. If you’re reading this blog and facing this then get in touch. I would be happy to chat with you about our journey.

 

I will probably post every now and then and will update on anything related. I think I will start a new blog over the next few days. A bog standard family life one. Just because I’ve enjoyed the habit of blogging!

For now though, I’d love to thank those that have followed and read and commented without judgement on my random posts. It’s been a roller coaster ride but I’ ready to get off now!

6 thoughts on “#NaBloPoMo – the little things – Day 29 and 30

  1. Hi! I really hope you keep blogging! i find it so enriching to read about you and your journey. It doesn’t matter that “you are off subject”.
    On my blog I write about what I learnt from having a seriously sick child. It is now over 5 years ago my daughter suffered from meningitis, but the experience is still with me, and it still gives me something. I still learn from that experience. I expect in the same way as you know your experience will be with you forever.
    You don’t have to put up with stuff like broken boilers in a graceful way, simply because you know worse. Like I don’t have to put up with stuff just because my child is alive. I am curious to find out what your unique experience is telling your soul! Please keep writing!
    Mettex

    • Thank you. I will keep writing – I just feel I need a fresh start. I don’t feel like the same person I guess. I do think it has helped shape me in some ways but I don’t want to be defined as homeless when I don’t feel that way anymore. I think it will cause a pressure to make my posts worthy somehow. If I want to moan about no hot water I feel I shouldn’t because at least we have a home now (even if still temporary)

      I’ve loved the support I’ve had here and will let you all know where I end up blogging next.

Leave a Reply

