Uncategorized

Making an application for homelessness

The last couple of days I have been thinking about the homelessness application I am yet to make.

 

I was told that the council will not accept an application until I am facing homelessness within 28 days. As of today, my Section 21 ends in 4 days.

 

I am curious to know when I can put in my application but have struggled to get a straight answer. I don’t understand how the council can know I won’t be homeless within the next 28 days. Do they possess a crystal ball? No one can give me a firm date for how long the eviction will take. Yet the council seem certain it will take longer then 28 days.

 

Why is so hard to get a straight answer for anything?

 

I can only hope that they become more supportive once my application is in. I also hope this is not a sign of how honest and helpful they will be once I am in temporary housing.

2 thoughts on “Making an application for homelessness

  1. Hi,
    It’s “standard” homelessness dept procedure – don’t take it personally, it’s just a way of postponing allocating temp/housing. It’s wrong, but it’s what happens. I know, as I was once a Homelessness Officer in a L.A. I can give you a bit of insight into how it works, but this is not ‘professional’ advice. I am no longer a Homelessness Officer!

    L.As are not supposed to refuse an application, esp. if you’ve specifically asked to make one. Whatever happens, they should give you advice on your “housing options”. Be aware that if your children living with you are under 16, the Council will know they will have to give you temporary housing (while they investigate your homelessness app, once accepted) as you will be deemed “priority need”.

    Be aware that sometimes LAs will wait for a “Warrant for Possession” notice (this will give you approx 2 weeks to vacate the property before the locks are changed etc) that comes from the Court. This is because that’s viewed as being a ‘point of no return’ – i.e. it is as definite a point in the process of you being homeless as can possibly be, without being on the street. (NB – there is guidance that says you shouldn’t have to wait until that point, but most Councils ignore it, again due to the housing availability/pressure on them)

    From my experience, it can take up to 12 weeks from after the S21 notice ends, to have a Warrant for Possession issued. But with the current housing situation, the Courts may be backed up and it could take longer.

    I don’t know the details of your case or where you’re located, but there are worse things you could do than make a nuisance of yourself… such as contact your local Councillor. I can see you’ve contacted Shelter & they’re probably the best people to talk to for advice. You could also try your local Citizens Advice Bureau.

    It’s easy for me to say, but don’t give up. Whatever happens they MUST accept your application before any Warrant for Possession ends (assuming you have nowhere else to go) – I wish you all the best. LT.

  2. Thanks so much for taking the time to reply!

    It does seem this is the way it has to be. I’m confident that they will do something once I have the court summons but I disgusted that I have to wait until then. That few weeks of one less person on the list obviously means more to them then a person ending up in debt through court costs or sick from stress.

    But thanks again for your advice 🙂

Leave a Reply

