#NaBloPoMo

#NaBloPoMo – the little things – Day 4

So this is  a stupidly little thing that’s bugging me about living in temporary housing.

I would call myself a frugal shopper. I get the bargains, freeze leftovers, meal plan and batch cook where I can. It helps save me money and at a time when I desperately need to save money my kitchen habits have been abandoned.

I can’t have more then a few days supplies in the fridge freezer – I don’t think I will have one in the next place and it may take a couple of weeks to get one. So it’s not going to be a case of moving food from this place to the next. I’m trying to shop wisely – on the one hand it’s making me pick things I know will get used. On the other – it’s proving to be expensive and quick options.

I know it’s silly in the grand scheme of things but it’s just one more way in which life is far from the norm for us. Just one more thing that reminds me of the 24 hour notice hanging over us. Just one more silly little part of me and our old life that’s left behind.

 

I told you it was a silly little thing!

 

 

11 thoughts on “#NaBloPoMo – the little things – Day 4

  1. Nothing is silly when it adds to a huge list of problems of the like you face – It is however a DISGRACE you’re forced to live this way in 2012

    • It does all add up yes. I know we are luckier then some in this situation but you’re right. It shouldn’t be happening this way. They had enough time to process my application and miss this nightmare step out completely.

  2. I really hope you get your final home soon, I’ve been following your blog as I’m about to face the same situation as you and I am terrified how it will affect my little girl and us as a family. Reading your posts though is helping me see that although its not ideal it is possible to get through each day. Stay strong xx

    • So sorry to hear yo are facing the same. Please let me know if I can help in anyway? Feel free to email me at homelessmummy@gmail.com if you have questions or just want to chat about it all.

      I’m glad my posts are helping a bit – that was the point of this blog really. I’d like to show people how you get through this. It’s not easy but you have to have faith it will be ok in the end.

      Stay strong yourself! xx

  3. It’s not silly at all! Your life has been thrown into turmoil and the things that keep normality going, you’re not being afforded.

    You’re an amazing mum (just had a quick read through some of your posts), your luck will come soon. Xx

  4. This is but one of the things that makes life for the poor/disadvantaged/dealing with crisis more expensive than it is for everyone else. The one thing that hopefully will sustain you is that this does end.

  5. Thank you for writing your blog and highlighting what it’s really like to be in your situation, beyond the statistics. This is truly appalling. I am only one pay packet away from a similar situation to you and not a day goes by I don’t think about it. If I were to have an accident or be off sick for a while, I would be homeless.
    Keep writing and know that there are a lot of people thinking of you. x

    • Thank you. Sadly I think a lot of people are closer to homelessness then they realise. Especially those in Private rented places. It’s so precarious. And given the housing benefit cap and direct payments more and more people will find it harder to rent.

Leave a Reply

