#NaBloPoMo / children / Emotional side

#NaBloPoMo – the little things -Day 9

Today I have abandoned my usual early morning posting routine. It’s been a busy day and I am finally sat down (with no cuppa because we have no milk…we always have milk. I don’t know how this happened!)

My son is tucked up in bed. I didn’t think he’d make it on time. He’s been to Nannys house. And Nanny presented him with a big bag of Haribo. And mummy let him pick a few and put the bag away. And then Mummy left and well, you can imagine what happened next can’t you? The bag was safely hidden – from ME – in the bin. Now empty whilst my son bounced from one wall to the next!

My daughter is sat watching a movie. We have spent the afternoon together with her teacher and her support workers. We have set learning targets and she has bravely admitted to being bullied, which she had been keeping hidden until earlier this week. I have swung from immense pride as they praise her hard work and the way she is exceeding all expected levels to being heartbroken for what she has faced these last few months.

The little things – Day 9

Courage.

It’s not really a little thing. But if an 11 year old girl can show such a huge amount so can I.

She is brave – in the face of some bullying. In the face of the housing situation. In the face of challenging school work.

She is brave. Braver then me at times. She is handling this whole thing with a maturity beyond her years and proud does not even come close to how I feel about her.

My beautiful brave girl has it right. Find joy in the tough times, laugh more, help others having a harder time then you,give it your best – even if you think you may fail and never give up. She is right.

4 thoughts on “#NaBloPoMo – the little things -Day 9

    • She really is brave. Hopefully it will get sorted. Can’t believe that kids these days are still calling each other thick etc. The school was great though. Hopefully it will get sorted soon and it’s one less thing for her to worry about. x

Leave a Reply

