#NaBloPoMo / Temporary Housing

#NaBloPoMo – the little things – Day 17

Day 17.

It’s another ‘not-so-little’ one.

Yesterday I blogged about bed bugs and a fabulous homeless charity called Inn Churches came to my rescue. They have ordered 3 fold-up beds to be delivered tomorrow. It is such an amazing thing to do.

I was completely overwhelmed and didn’t want to accept them at first – we do have some airbeds we could use after all.

But they had taken the time to make the offer and were keen for us to accept. And I was keen for the kids to have something better then airbeds in our new home.

I don’t feel very deserving of it and that’s entered my head a few times today as I’ve been packing up ready for the move. I don’t know why but I’m finding it hard to accept an offer like this. Or a compliment about being strong etc. I just feel like I’m doing what I have to but that there are others out there who deserve help more then we do. I think, on reflection I feel a level of guilt or embarrassment over this still. I’ve been reluctant to share our story with people I know in real life. And those that do don’t know about the blog.

Ultimately though – I can’t turn down something that will benefit the kids so much.

 

But this whole journey has taught me one thing…People are good. There is a kindness out there that I’d never really thought about. This has restored my faith in human kindness for certain. But it’s also motivated me to want to help others more.

When we’re settled, I’d like to look into volunteering at a homeless charity. I should have some time on my hands now that my son can start pre-school. I’d love to use it for the benefit of others facing this situation.

2 thoughts on “#NaBloPoMo – the little things – Day 17

  1. Such a lovely post. I know this will be some time off, but with your experience I wonder if you have considered Advice and Guidance.as a career with homeless charities or even with your local council? It sounds as though you would be good at it & ur advice & guidance to people in a similar situation to where u are right now, would always come from the heart x Good luck…u deserve it x

    • Thank you – yes I think I’d like to make this whole situation count for something. If I could help someone facing similar then it would all have a positive affect along the line.

      It’s certainly something I’d like to look into. Original plan was to train as a social worker and I can see that this would help in some circumstances with that but something more housing based is starting to appeal.

Leave a Reply

