#NaBloPoMo / Emotional side / Temporary Housing

#NaBloPoMo – the little things – Day 24

Day 24

It’s funny how quickly you fall back into familiar routines.

Saturday was usually my lazy morning day after a busy week. We always had eggs for lunch. The kids watched TV and played around the house and I meal planned and organised the diary for the week.

Today has been the same. Yes we did this to a certain extent in emergency housing but somehow it feels like we’ve truly started to settle here as we sit around in our pjs and dip soldiers into our eggs.

I’ve spent the morning meal planning. It’s nice to have a couple of weeks worth of food in the fridge and freezer.

I’ve checked my lists of things to get and do and been pleased that they seem to be shrinking.

I’ve ordered a washing machine which suddenly seemed higher priority then the bedroom furniture for the kids. I figured they can keep their clothes in a case for a couple of weeks – if they are clean it doesn’t really matter where they go!

I’ve made a list of the uniform my son will need for nursery – yes, uniform for nursery. Whatever happened to ‘play clothes’? I warn you now, there will be a teary post sometime next week about my baby growing up.

I’ve invited my lovely sister-in-law and nephew for lunch on Monday. The place finally feels ready for visitors.

All these little things are making us feel at home. We are home. I don’t even add “for a couple of years at least” to the end of the sentence in my head anymore…

2 thoughts on “#NaBloPoMo – the little things – Day 24

  1. Hi, sorry for the confusion. I have just moved from emergency housing supplied by the local council to a temporary property. I am still technically classed as homeless in the housing system because they cannot offer me a long term tenancy on this property. But we will be here for a couple or years now.

    The whole system is a bit complicated and confusing sometimes!

    I don’t know how much longer I will continue to write for. I may take the blog in a new direction since I don’t feel like I’m ‘homeless mummy’ anymore.

Leave a Reply

